Yes, I WILL boycott BP

There’s been a lot of chatter lately about how boycotting BP is an empty gesture that only harms local retailers. Maybe so, but I’m doing it anyway.

Here’s why.

  • Knowing what BP has done to the Gulf of Mexico, I can no longer buy BP products without feeling like a shmuck.
  • Not being a petroleum products distributor myself, either I boycott BP retail outlets or I take no effective action at all.
  • It is not my responsibility to ensure the profitability of anyone’s convenience store. There’s this thing called risk. Deal with it.
  • I’m told that BP retailers get most of their revenue from drinks, candy, and so on. So fine, if I happen to pass your store on a bike or on foot, I’ll feel free to stop in and buy a coke. But I won’t drive a car in to your lot, much less buy your gas.
  • I’ve managed to avoid buying Exxon products since 1989, when the company’s Exxon Valdez tanker dumped up to 32 million gallons of oil in Prince William Sound, Alaska. Failing to boycott BP for a much larger and more serious offense would be inconsistent at best.
  • Boycotting Exxon, BP, and Amoco (a BP trademark) is likely to be inconvenient on road trips. This is OK with me. We’re supposed to be weaning ourselves off of fossil fuels, so the least I can do is put up with some inconvenience when it comes to buying gasoline.

You might be able to talk me into boycotting even more gasoline retailers, but you won’t talk me out of boycotting BP.

Leave a Reply

