Why don’t I blog?

Andrew Sullivan has a piece in the Atlantic, called Why I Blog, full of strongly held views and doctrine about what blogging should be. I’m not convinced of the necessity of letting it all hang out, as he imagines one must. But the piece has persuaded me to take up this project again, for whatever reason.

So has the fact that my mother has started blogging. No one can accuse her of being leery of the social Web. She preceded me onto Facebook as well.

I let this blog lapse while in Basel this summer, as I felt unprepared to write about my experiences. It seemed presumptuous to expect an audience, for one thing. Sullivan would say I have entirely the wrong attitude for the new media. Maybe so.

Leave a Reply

